top of page
  • Writer's pictureDaniela

Dulces Sueños.

*Scroll down for English version*



Anoche soñé con mi tío Fernando. Fue un sueño que ya tuve antes. Pero en los sueños anteriores yo llegaba a su casa y él ya no estaba.


Sin embargo esta vez fue diferente. Esta vez llegué a tiempo.


Se supone que era una visita para reencontrarme con mi tía y mis primos, después de todos estos años lejos.


Golpeo la puerta y es él quien la abre. Está más flaco que el tío todopoderoso de mis recuerdos, pero sigue siendo una presencia intimidante como la de mi infancia.


Para mí, mi tío siempre fue una ser mítico. Lo admiraba y deseaba que pudiéramos estar más presentes uno en la vida del otro. De todas manera, las veces que nos veíamos, siempre me hacía sentir especial. Creo que él hacía sentir especial a todo el mundo. Tenía un don.


Me encantaba verlo reír con mi madre. Se le notaba en la mirada cuánto la adoraba!


No había emoción en mi vida tal como la de contestar el teléfono cuando nos llamaba. Él decía "hola" y yo le conocía la voz enseguida, pero igual preguntaba "¿quién habla?" porque ese era nuestro juego. Sus respuestas variaban entre "el tío más lindo que tenés", "tu tío favorito en todo el universo" y "el tío con la sobrina más linda del mundo".


Ojalá él sepa lo especial que era para mí.


Cuando lo veo en la puerta, lo primero que hago es preguntarle cómo está. Yo, en el sueño, ya sé que estaba enfermo. Se pone a llorar y me dice: "no estoy muy bien". Y lo abrazo.


Nos abrazamos bien fuerte y por mucho tiempo. No quiero dejarlo ir. Sé que cuando lo suelte yo me tengo que volver a Estados Unidos y no lo voy a volver a ver nunca más.


Mientras lo abrazo, pienso en qué bueno fue que no me mintiera. La gente cuando está enferma y sabe que es grave, tiende a minimizar todo para no causarle preocupación a los demás.


Fuera del sueño, en la vida real, él no nos quiso preocupar. Y no supimos que se nos iba hasta que ya se había ido.


Pero en mi sueño, él comprende que éste es nuestro último encuentro y de nada sirve decirme que todo va a estar bien. Él sabe que se está muriendo y no quiere que me vaya a casa con falsas esperanzas.


No me acuerdo qué más pasó en el sueño después del abrazo. Quizás el abrazo duró el sueño entero.


Cuando me desperté me abrumó la tristeza, porque fue como empezar otro duelo nuevo. Pero a la vez estaba contenta. Contenta de que tras soñar dos o tres veces lo mismo y siempre llegar tarde, por fin había podido estar ahí a tiempo y despedirme de mi tío.


Todas las veces anteriores, era mi tía quien abría la puerta. No nos decíamos nada. Nos abrazábamos y llorábamos juntas. Él ya no estaba.


El exilio te roba muchas cosas. Pero la única cosa peor que robarte la chance de compartir tiempo con tus seres queridos, es que te roba la chance de despedirte de ellos cuando se van para siempre.


He perdido ya mucha gente que jamás voy a volver a abrazar, de la que nunca me pude despedir. Pero por lo menos anoche pude tachar un nombre de esa lista.


Anoche, en un sueño, my tío y yo nos dijimos adiós.









 


Sweet Dreams.


Last night I dreamed about my uncle Fernando. It was a dream I had before. But in my previous dreams, I would arrive at his house and he'd be already gone.


However, this time was different. This time, I was on time.


This was supposedly a visit to reunite with my aunt and my cousins, after all these years apart.


I knock on the door and it's him who opens it. He looks skinnier than the almighty uncle from my memories, but he's still has the same intimidating presence from my childhood.


To me, my uncle was always a mythical being. I admired him and wished we could be more present in each other's lives. Regardless, every time we'd see each other, he always made me feel special. I think he made everyone feel special. He had a gift.


I loved seeing him laugh with my mother. You could see it in his eyes how much he adored her!


There wasn't a better feeling in life than answering the phone whenever he called us. He'd say "hello" and I'd recognize his voice right away, but still ask "who is this?" because that was our game. His answers varied between "the most handsome uncle you have", "your favorite uncle in the whole universe" and "the uncle with the most beautiful niece in the world".


I hope he knows how special he was to me.


When I see him at the door, the first thing I do is ask him how he's doing. In the dream, I knew he was sick. He starts crying and tells me: "I'm not doing so good". And I hug him.


We hug each other tightly and for a long, long time. I don't want to let him go. I know that when I let go of him, I have to go back to America and I'll never see him again.


While I hug him, I think of how nice it was that he didn't lie to me. People when they're sick and know it's serious, tend to minimize everything to avoid worrying others.


Outside of the dream, in real life, he didn't want to worry us. And we didn't know he was leaving us until he had already left us.


But in my dream, he understands that this is our last time meeting, and it's useless telling me that everything is going to be alright. He knows he's dying and doesn't want me to go home having false hope.


I don't remember what else happened in the dream after the hug. Maybe the hug lasted the entire dream.


When I woke up I was overwhelmed by sadness, because it felt like I was grieving him all over again. But at the same time, I was happy. Happy that after having the same dream two or three times and always arriving late, I had finally made it on time and could give my uncle a proper farewell.


All the other times, it was my aunt who opened the door. We wouldn't say anything. We'd just hug and cry together. He wasn't there anymore.


Exile robs you of many things. But the only thing worse than it keeping you from spending time with your loved ones, is that it robs you of the chance to be with them when they're leaving forever.


I have lost too many people already that I will never ever get to hug again, people I never got to give a proper send-off to. But at least last night I was able to scratch a name off that list.


Last night, in a dream, my uncle and I said goodbye.



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page