top of page
  • Writer's pictureDaniela

Cenicienta No Es Basada En Hechos Reales

Updated: Jul 22, 2022


*Scroll down for English version*



Dicen que cada uno tiene su media naranja. Que siempre hay un roto para un descosido, y que cada zapato encuentra su horma. Lo malo es no saber cuándo.


Llevo mis 25 años de vida sin conocer lo que todos llaman "amor real". He analizado el concepto, estudiado candidatos al puesto, hasta he tenido sueños que me mostraron el futuro perfecto que ese logro me podría proporcionar. Pero aun así, la vivencia se me escapa de las manos. Me elude, me esquiva, como una realidad que nunca va a suceder.

Un par de veces creí estar viendo a los ojos a ese hombre que tanto había esperado. Pero como siempre, la vida me sacudió esa idea a cachetazos! Y hasta me está llevando a pensar que esto del amor, después de todo, no es para mí. Que por más sensible, cursi y romántica que sea, las mariposas en la panza las experimentaré solamente con una buena indigestión estomacal... Idea totalmente descabellada si se lo preguntaran a mi "yo" adolescente que creía en el amor eterno e incondicional!


A los 15 años creía que existía en el mundo una persona creada solo para mí, que en algún lugar del planeta me anhelaba también, y que la vida misma se encargaría de traer hasta mi puerta más temprano que tarde. Pero con los años y lo vivido a través de ellos, la pompa de jabón en la que flotaba se explotó y caí de nalgas en la cruel realidad.


Resulta que si ese hombre existe, todavía no sabe que yo nací y que lo estoy esperando. O puede ser que la vida ya lo haya traído hasta mi puerta y al verme asomar por la ventana salió corriendo!


Así que dejé de esperarlo. Dejé de buscarlo en las caras de todos los hombres que me cruzo por ahí. E incluso empiezo a sospechar que no existe, aunque a veces me quiera convencer a mí misma de que le tocó nacer en la otra punta del mundo y se tarda porque está viajando a pie.


Sí, ya sé que 25 años no es tanto y que a mucha gente ese encuentro perfecto les llega mucho más tarde, pero al menos en el proceso se encuentran con imitaciones. Y algunas de ellas llegan a ser imitaciones muy fieles a la de un "amor real". Entonces el recorrido hasta esa "media naranja" se hace menos tedioso.


Eso es lo que dicen experimentar las personas normales, pero no yo. La normalidad no se me da para algunas cosas, y comúnmente es para las peores cosas! No, a mí mi crianza, mi entorno, los libros y el maldito cine romántico me enseñaron desde chiquita que existen los príncipes azules. Que el amor verdadero es uno solo y que no podía conformarme con nada menos que el hombre ideal que me brindara una historia de amor perfecta.


Por eso es que en el camino a encontrarme con la horma de mi zapato, me he perdido de disfrutar de los amores equivocados. Todo por expectativas absurdas! Por creer que Cenicienta estaba basada en hechos reales y que no debía prestarle atención a ningún mortal que no fuera el príncipe azul que me estaba buscando por todo el reino con mi zapato de cristal en mano. ¿Se dan cuenta qué ilógico? Yo calzo 39, el pobre príncipe se hubiera espantado con tal tamaño de zapato!


Permití así que fuera pasando el tiempo sin darme la oportunidad de conocer al que me quiso conocer, sin aceptar esa invitación a tomar un café del que quiso empezar con una amistad, dándole la espalda al que se atrevió a mirarme cuando nos cruzamos por ahí. En años, no me interesé genuinamente en nadie, aunque ningún "nadie" se interesara primero en mí tampoco. A veces lo que cuenta es que una persona se interese en otra e intente propiciar un encuentro, y de ahí se planea la conquista.


Hay personas que teniendo pareja, se ven obligadas a rechazar a decenas de hombres y mujeres al mes que las intentan conquistar. Y yo, muy viva, vengo a rechazar a los dos o tres que se dignaron a darme la hora! Suena irónico, pero aunque nunca estuve en posición de andar escogiendo, me volví la persona más selectiva del universo. Ni que fuera Angelina Jolie!


Nota del autor: si Angelina Jolie de diera bola, me cambio de tribuna al instante!!!


Entonces hoy, en medio del sendero a mi tercera década, me doy cuenta que no estoy sola por creerme mucho o poco, sino porque he vivido creyendo que el amor es todo o nada, que es perfecto o de lo contrario no vale la pena. Así que preferí no buscarlo, porque se supone que es el verdadero amor el que lo encuentra a uno... Pero qué tipa gila!


Ahora que la burbuja explotó y dejé de creer tanta tarugada, entiendo que el amor no te viene a golpear la puerta, no aparece por arte de magia ni lo viene a traer de Paris la cigüeña o Papá Noel del Polo Norte. Ahora comprendo que al amor se lo sale a buscar. Y el que busca, encuentra!


A todo esto, ustedes se preguntarán "¿por qué nos contó todos estos divagues esta loca?" Bueno, resulta que el relato que empezó como catarsis, termina siendo una fábula de aprendizaje, cuya moraleja pretende ser un consejo para los más jóvenes, o para los que ya vamos tirando a veteranos pero que aun no encontramos a ese roto o descosido.


Salgan a buscar al amor.


No se queden esperando sentados a que llegue solo. No crean todo lo que ven en la televisión o en el internet, o en lo que cuentan los libros. De vez en cuando acepten esa invitación a tomar un café, intercambien números de teléfono con esa persona con la que la charla "no estuvo tan mal". Vayan a esa fiesta donde no conocen a casi nadie, y préstenle un poquito más de atención a quien los mire con interés.


No le den la espalda a las oportunidades. A cada persona que los mire fijo, sosténganle la mirada, y que su instinto los guíe desde ahí. Por cada cinco personas que les sonrían, sonríanle a todas. No se cierren. Con el tiempo, la selectividad se va pareciendo mucho a la soledad.


Esto no quiere decir que dejen de aspirar a ciertos niveles, tener criterios de selección definidos es esencial. No dejen de pretender encontrar atributos específicos en las personas que cortejan. Pero sin conformarse con menos de lo que merecen, procuren no buscarle la quinta pata al gato. El hombre perfecto o la mujer perfecta, no existen!


Dense el tiempo de conocer a alguien a fondo y de aprender a aceptarlos tal y como son, queriéndolos con todo y sus imperfecciones. Si los humanos no somos perfectos, las historias de amor jamás lo serán tampoco. Los cuentos de hadas son reservados exclusivamente para Disney, y no tienen lugar en la vida real.


No se den por vencidos tras una relación fallida, ni bajen los brazos antes de tiempo cuando no sean correspondidos. El amor a veces nace del trabajo, de la suma de momentos en los que una persona te demuestra que está ahí para vos. Obvio, saber cuando retirarse y abandonar la lucha es vital, sólo espero poder evitar las renuncias prematuras!


No estoy diciendo que hay que salir a conocer a alguien nuevo todos los días, ni aconsejo que estén saltando de cama en cama como si fuera un deporte. Ojo, es muy válido si eso les da resultado, o si es lo único que están esperando sacar de una relación por ahora. Todos buscamos cosas distintas. Lo que digo es que no se nieguen la oportunidad (o más bien, el derecho) de ir siendo felices mientras mientras llega esa felicidad sublime de encontrar a quien amar de verdad.


Nunca dependan de nadie, pero no se prohiban la chance de compartir sus vidas con otros. Dicen los que saben que vale la pena. Intenten! Aunque se equivoquen, de los errores se aprende.


Y como me dijo la persona que más me enseñó del amor: "por lo menos, de todo esto, sacamos una amistad..."






P.D.: Diez años después de escribir esto, sigo sin seguir mi propio consejo. No sean como yo!




 

Cinderella is Not Based on a True Story.


They say each one of us has a better half. That there's always a lid for every pot, and everyone finds their match. The bad part is not knowing when that will happen.


In my 25 years of life, I have yet to know what they call "true love". I've analyzed the concept, studied candidates for that role, even had dreams that showed me the perfect future said finding would provide me, But even so, it has slipped through my fingers. It evades me, it dodges me, like a reality that will never come to be.


A couple of times I believed I was looking into the eyes of that man I had waited for for so long. But as always, life slapped that idea out of me! And it's even leading me to think that this love thing, after all, is not for me. That no matter how sensitive, how cheesy, or how romantic I can be, the butterflies in my stomach is something I will only ever experience through indigestion... Idea totally unconceivable for little old 15-year-old me, who believed in eternal and unconditional love!


At age 15 I believe that there was a person in this world who had been created just for me, who somewhere in this planet longed for me, too, and that life itself would deliver to my front door sooner rather than later. But with the years, and everything I lived through, the bubble in which I had been floating around burst, and I landed on my ass into this cruel reality.


Turns out that if this man exists, he doesn't know yet that I've been born and that I'm waiting for him. Or it could be that life has already brought him to my doorstep and after seeing me through the window, he ran away!


So, I stopped waiting. I stopped looking for him in the faces of all the men I crossed paths with. And I'm starting to suspect that he doesn't actually exist, although sometimes I try to convince myself that he happened to be born on the other side of the world and he's taking this long because he's traveling on foot.


Yes, I know that 25 years is not that long and that a lot of people don't meet that special someone until much later in life, but at least in the meantime, they find knockoffs. And some of those end up being pretty close imitations of the real thing. Then, the road ahead towards their better half is much less tedious.


That's what normal people say they experience, anyway, but not me. Normal doesn't go with me on certain things -the worst ones, usually! No, my upbringing, my environment, books and romantic movies taught me from an early age that Prince Charming is real. That true love only comes around once and I couldn't settle for anything less than the ideal man who could offer me the perfect love story.


That's why on my way to meet my match, I've missed out on enjoying love, even when it's a mistake. All because of absurd expectations! For thinking that Cinderella was based on a true story and I was to not pay mind to any mortal who wasn't Prince Charming, looking for me across the kingdom with crystal slipper in-hand and all. Can you see how illogical that is? I'm a size 9, that would've spooked the poor prince away!


I allowed time to keep passing without giving myself the opportunity to meet the guy who wanted to get to know me, to accept the invitation for a coffee from the guy who wanted to star off with a friendship, turning my back on those who dared look at me as I passed by. In years I haven't genuinely been interested in anybody, although no one has shown interest in me either. Sometimes all it takes is for one person to get invested and attempt to make a play, and from there, you get the pieces moving on the board.


There are people who are in relationships and still are forced to reject dozens of men and women who want them. And me -oh, so clever!- have the audacity to reject the two or three people who bothered to give me the time of day! Sounds ironic, but even though I've never been in a position to be picky, I became the most selective person in the universe. Who do I think I am? Angelina Jolie?


*Author's note: If Angelina Jolie ever liked me, I would switch sides in an instant!!!


Then today, halfway to my third decade of life, I realize that I'm not alone because I think to highly or too poorly of myself, but because I've been living my life thinking that love is all or nothing, that it has to be perfect or otherwise isn't worth it. So, I preferred to not seek it in the first place, because true love is supposed to find you, not the other way around... What an idiot!


Now that the bubble burst and I stopped believing so many dumb things, I understand that love doesn't come knocking on your door, it doesn't appear out of thin air, nor does a stork deliver it from Paris or Santa Close brings it from the North Pole. I understand now that you go out and you find it. And finders, keepers!


At this point, you must be wondering why this crazy lady is still rambling on? Well, turns out that the narrative that began as catharsis, ends up as a fable whose moral intends to be a learning lesson or advice for the young ones, or those more "vintage" like us who still haven't found that lid for our pot.


Go out and find love.


Don't sit down and wait for it to come on its own. Don't believe everything you see on television or the internet, or what you read in books. Every now and then, accept that invitation for a coffee, exchange numbers with that person you had that not-so-bad chat with. Go to that party where you don't know anybody, and pay a little more attention to those who look at you with intent.


Don't turn your backs on opportunity. If a person stares at you, stare back and hold their gaze, and let your instinct guide you from there. For every five people who smile at you, smile back at all of them. Don't close off. Over time, selectiveness starts looking a lot like loneliness.


This doesn't mean you shouldn't aspire to a certain standard, having a defined selection criteria is essential. Don't stop expecting specific attributes in the people you crush on. But, without settling for less than you deserve, don't try so hard to find fault in everyone you meet. The perfect man or woman doesn't exist!


Give yourself the time to get to know someone deeply, and learn to accept them as they are, loving them along with all their flaws. If humans aren't perfect, neither can love stories. Fairytales are reserved exclusively for Disney, and have no place in real life.


Don't give up after a failed relationship, and don't surrender too soon when your love is not immediately reciprocated. Sometimes love is born from labor, from the sum of all the moments in which a person shows you they are there for you. Obviously, knowing when to retreat and retire is vital, I just hope we can all avoid premature resignations!


I'm not saying you should go out and meet someone new every day, nor do I advice anyone to go jumping from bed to bed like it's a sport. Of course, that's completely valid if that's all you're hoping to gain from a relationship for now. We all search for different things. What I'm saying is that we shouldn't deny ourselves of the opportunity (more like, deprive ourselves of our right) of being happy while that sublime happiness of finding one's true love comes.


Never depend on anyone, but don't miss out on the chance to share your lives with other people. Those who know, say it's worth it. Try it! Even if you get it wrong. You'll learn from your mistakes.


And as the person who taught me the most about love once said to me: "at least, out of all this, we gained a friendship..."






P.S.: It's been ten years since I wrote that, and never followed my own advice. Don't be like me!










10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page